Morning becomes nostalgic.

This morning, everybody overslept. Maybe it was the greyness of the sky. Maybe we just all needed the sleep.

It was fifty minutes after the alarm went off, twenty minutes past actual getting-out-of-bed time, when the Wizard* and I rolled over, stretched, noted the time, and went oh. Ten minutes before I was supposed to leave for my work assignment. I threw on clothes, ran a comb through my hair and a toothbrush through my mouth. Grabbed my pocket things (phone, wallet) and my journal and pen. Kissed the Wizard, who was still dressing.

Went to the Mercurial Maiden’s* room. “Have a good day, sweetie.” “…Mmmf mmff, mmmmfmmmmf.” “I love you.” “Mmmf mmmf mmf mmmfff, mmmmfmmmf.” Then, through the haze of drowsiness, she made a heroic effort at intelligibility: “I love you, Mommy.”

Went down to the Samurai’s* room. “Have a good day, love.” Sleepy, bewildered: “Oh, you’re leaving already? I’m sorry I overslept.” “It’s okay, we all did.”

Sometime last fall, we began the practice of rising early (at six or six-thirty, depending on schedules; believe me, for us, that feels very early) and having breakfast together. Before that, I very often found myself in the position of kissing sleepy people goodbye. Come to think of it, we all did, at different times. Sometimes the Wizard had to get to work before any of my appointments. Sometimes the Mercurial Maiden had to catch the school bus before any of us stirred ourselves; she’d fix herself some cereal, read a book, and say goodbye. Then I’d be the one making Herculean efforts at coherence: “Have a good day, sweetie, are you wearing a coat? It’s supposed to be cold today.”

A year ago, I’m not sure I would have believed that I could get myself out of bed before 7AM on a regular basis. I spent a lot of time saying I would, and then when push came to shove, not wanting to do it. When we all decided to do it, though, it became a commitment, and things changed.

I like the newer rhythm of breakfast together. Sometimes we’re cranky and get on each other’s nerves, but that’s life, and usually we don’t. It’s a good start to the day. Even so, when I got to re-visit a previous rhythm this morning, it felt oddly endearing and nostalgic. Kissing sleepy people goodbye makes me feel trusted, and loving, and loved.

*The Wizard and the Samurai are my two partners. The Mercurial Maiden is my daughter.

Leave a Reply

