Minimum daily requirements

I used to have a fairly lengthy list of core values, life categories, and goals pertaining to each value and category. Over the past few years, I have simplified.

Now, there are only two things, two actions, that I require of myself every day:

Do something creative.
Do something loving.

If I take care of just those two imperatives, then the day has been a success. If I can just continue to be creative and loving, then I am not a failure.

Amazingly, this does not feel like lowering the bar — because how can I possibly feel that way, when I am giving first priority to the things that matter most to me?

7 responses to “Minimum daily requirements

  1. Wow – that’s powerful – I want to paint it on my wall right now! Thank you Kathleen – I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts. 🙂

  2. For years I’ve made a point of doing three things with my husband: Tell him every day that I love him, give him a compliment every day, and make him laugh every day. I started using the same guidelines in conversations with other loved ones and it’s amazing the way it creates a positive glow between us!

    Now I’ll add your MDA to my thinking: do something loving for myself! And do something creative. Maybe something lovingly creative or creatively loving!

  3. Sorry, I made a typo. I meant to write MDR for minimum daily requirements, instead of MDA.

  4. Ah, lovely. Simple and good. Thank you.

  5. Ah! So glad Havi posted a link to this. It is indeed simple and perfect, and I will think about it today. Thank you.

  6. This is lovely–you raised the bar 🙂

Leave a Reply

