Friday Fragments IV: late and lightning-quick

I need to get better at protecting my voice — and I mean that quite literally, although I’m sure there are metaphorical implications as well. I just push my voice too hard, both speaking and singing, when I’m at work. Why? Some of it’s just a matter of hard, sustained use, but I think some of the reasons it happens are rooted in control-freakishness and anxiety.

After weeks of wanting a beautiful soap dish, I finally got myself one, just in time for spring, in the color and shape of a newly-grown leaf. It makes me smile. I am a firm believer in having beautiful things for everyday use; they’re a constant source of joy and affirmation. Why, then, did it take me so long to get that soap dish?

I am standing in the shadow of what feels like a very challenging month ahead. I’m reflecting a lot on the idea that, even in the midst of turmoil and turbulence, I can still have a lot of power in how I choose to respond. I can decide how to be. I can be calm. I can be playful. I can be kind.

I can’t change the past, and I can’t control the future, but I can take hold of the present with both hands, and let it unfold. Here and now, I can be as loving and creative as I choose to be.

Leave a Reply

