Reverb 10: One word.

(I’ve just discovered a very cool project called Reverb 10: a series of daily writing prompts that will be offered throughout this month, with the aim of helping participants reflect on the year that has passed and set some intentions for the year to come. I’m a couple of days behind, so I have a bit of catching up to do, but no worries. If you’re curious, you can find out more about the project at http://www.reverb10.com.)

Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today: what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

I’ve decided not to over-think this question, but to go with the first word that popped into my head. That word, alas, is neutral.

Not neutral as in meh. Not neutral as in neither good nor evil. Not neutral as in Switzerland. Neutral as in stuck in neutral.

I’ve found it difficult to really move forward this year. Perhaps it would be more accurate to say that I’ve had a hard time feeling myself moving forward this year. If I consider the past year objectively, I can come up with some accomplishments, including one or two really significant ones. Even so, in many ways, I feel that I have been spinning my wheels, struggling to shift some things that really need shifting, trying and failing to make the progress I want to make. Stuck. In. Neutral.

And the word that I would like to be able to choose for 2011?

Metamorphosis.

This caterpillar dreams of flying.

Leave a Reply

