Birthday cake

Yesterday, we drove to New Jersey for a party celebrating my nephew’s eighth birthday. It made for a long day, driving some four hours in each direction, but we were willing to do that because we knew we’d want to spend our other weekend day at home.

The party was lovely — good weather, good company, and good food. In a fun and fanciful twist on the usual order, not only was the cake made of ice cream, but it was accompanied by these lovely little spherical scoops of cake, frosting, and sprinkles all mushed together. Delicious, and just the taste I’d been craving.

My first-ever memory of a birthday cake wasn’t even a real cake: it came from Winnie the Pooh, in which Eeyore spoke wistfully of “candles and pink sugar.” Have I ever had a birthday cake with pink sugar? I can’t remember now. It may be that I have, but if so, it was years ago.

My birthday is many months away. The next birthday in my household won’t be until mid-December.

I’m having a strange day today; thus, this is a rather strange post, or at least, it feels so to me. I stayed in bed all morning, sleeping late and then dozing off and on, snuggling with my sweetie. So the day started late, and it’s been one of those Lost Days that feels timeless one minute, and in the next minute feels as if time is slipping through my fingers like sand. Or like pink sugar, perhaps.

I just had a spoonful of brown sugar, a few minutes ago. I used to sneak lumps of it when I was a kid. I don’t do that very often anymore, but every once in a while, yeah.

What kind of sweetness am I truly needing right now?

And how about you? Is there some kind of sweetness you can give yourself today?

One response to “Birthday cake

  1. Reading this post, as it turns out. 🙂

    You, too, hunh? You perfectly described the way this day has been for me too: “…it’s been one of those Lost Days that feels timeless one minute, and in the next minute feels as if time is slipping through my fingers like sand. Or like pink sugar, perhaps.”

    As I’m preparing to post on your request-for-prompts post, you are cordially invited to guest post over at An Encouraging Bird any time you feel like sharing some of your wondrous wisdom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

