Re-invention

Trying some ideas on for size…

Hi, I’m Kat. What do I do? Well, I’m a doctoral student. I’m working towards my PhD in music therapy. I’ve finished up my coursework, and passed my prelims. Now I’m writing my dissertation proposal. I have a topic that excites me, and I’m enjoying the process of bringing it to life, and helping it begin to take shape.

Yep, I’m a doctoral student. That’s my Thing, right now. That’s my work.

Oh, yes, I’m still doing some clinical work. I’m doing music therapy at a nursing home three days a week, and I’m teaching Music Together classes at a local Montessori school, and I have one private client. It would be nice if I could go on sabbatical from all that, so that I’d have more time for my dissertation, but we need the money. It’s also nice to still be working with clients. Even so, I’ve been careful to keep my clinical work simple, straightforward and low-key for now, so that I’ll still have plenty of time to focus on my studies.

Yes, and of course I’m still performing, still making music! I spend a little time every day in my studio, fooling around with my guitar or at the piano, sometimes singing old favorites, sometimes creating new stuff, just seeing where it goes. I sing with a local choral ensemble, too; we’re doing Messiah this fall. These things give me energy, which I can channel directly into my academic work.

I have a wonderful family, and they’re very supportive. I have a circle of friends who’ve been encouraging me and cheering for me every step of the way.

Earning my PhD is a challenge. It’s harder than I thought it would be! Even so, the work is rewarding, and even fun. I’ve come a long way, and I still have further to go, but I will get there. I will.

Hi. I’m Kat. I’m working on my PhD in music therapy. I’m pleased to meet you!

2 responses to “Re-invention

  1. Pingback: RE-re-invention « Spiral Songs and Grace Notes

  2. Hello !!

    I found your blog through Havi’s hub 😉
    and then found this post on the PhD life
    And wanted to say – thanks for writing it !

    It can get so lonely as a PhD student who is also creative – especially in the economics department.
    I’ll be back!

    best wishes from Belgium

Leave a Reply

