This has been the hardest day I’ve had all month.

I don’t want to talk about what went wrong, though. I just don’t. I want to talk about what went right. So, here I am, counting coup again:

–My daughter was sweet and comforting. She encouraged me to read to her, and she led a Full Moon ritual for the two of us, very lovingly.

–My local bookstore had one copy of the magazine I wanted, and I got it!

–I had a lovely, serene, solitary lunch: a cup of zesty chicken and rice soup accompanying a Mexican-style chicken and black bean salad, topped with perfect tortilla strips.

–I had plenty of opportunities to write in my journal.

–I got to do some very satisfying dramatic reading aloud to my daughter.

–My daughter had an elaborate story idea that she worked on, off and on, all day long. In the morning she politely told me that she wasn’t ready to share it, but by evening she was very ready and eager for feedback.

–My daughter said to me, “I’m beginning to fall in love with middle school.”

–I had a good session with my private client, and a good conversation with his mother.

–I did some Shiva Nata.

–Both of my partners were kind to me, and made it very clear how much they love me.

–I wrote a blog post that made me feel better, not worse, about my (honestly!) very hard day. It was terrible, yes, it was horrible, it was very bad — but it was not no good.

2 responses to “This has been the hardest day I’ve had all month.

Leave a Reply

