Merge ahead

So, I promised myself that I would post in this blog daily throughout the month of August, and I have been keeping that promise. It hasn’t always felt easy, it hasn’t always felt comfortable, but I’ve been sticking with it anyway.

A wee bit of history: I started this blog in 2008, with the idea that it would be my “professional” blog, as opposed to the personal blog that I’ve kept on LiveJournal since 2004. After my first post, I did nothing here for over a year. Then, for a variety of reasons, in late 2009 I decided to try again.

So, the upshot is, I’ve been posting a bit here, and posting a bit on LiveJournal, and generally feeling stretched a bit thin.

Here’s what I think I’ve decided to do about it, though I could still change my mind:

Beginning next month, at around the time of the Fall Equinox, I am going to be merging this blog with my LiveJournal. All the old posts over there will be locked, and new posts will be duplicates of my posts here. Some people will be reading me on LiveJournal; some people will be reading me here, but it will all be the same material.

Why? There are a few reasons. The simple, straightforward and pragmatic reason is that up to now, I haven’t been feeling entirely satisfied with the quantity or quality of my writing in either blog. This way, I’ll be streamlining my focus. (Is that a mixed metaphor? Probably.)

There is a deeper reason, though.

I think part of the reason this blog has had such a slow beginning is that I’ve been worrying too much — sometimes consciously, sometimes not — about seeming professional. About seeming polished. About seeming wise and knowledgeable.

Enough seeming. It’s time for my personal self and my professional self to come together. It’s time to step out of the shadows.

One response to “Merge ahead

  1. Hiya! OK, so, I’m totally new to your blog and this is the first post I read, but I just wanted to say I think you’re moving in the right direction. Wanting to be professional can really mess with your ability to say anything, useful things, that you might otherwise say. Fusion ha! (That might be too obscure. Sorry. Anyway, good luck.)

Leave a Reply

