Weekend wonderings

We have house guests this weekend. One friend arrived tonight, two more will arrive at around noon tomorrow.

I’ve been noticing that the last few times we’ve had guests, I’ve been kind of a wreck. A dish-washing, pulse-pounding, nerves-fraying wreck. Why? What’s going on?

I want this weekend to be better.

I’m going to take some small, physical steps to calm myself. Breathing slowly and deeply. Stretching. Running my palms over the things around me, feeling their textures. I’m hoping that these things will help me to stay grounded in the moment, and I’m hoping that will help me keep me to be calm and mindful.

Then, from a position of calm, mindfulness, and presence, I’ll be in more of a position to choose my responses — not only to the people around me, but to my own fleeting thoughts and feelings.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

